Early Years Foundation Stage Framework
Pre-school Playhouse is registered and inspected in line with the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework. The EYFS is a stage of children's development from birth to the end of their first year (Reception) in school. The EYFS Framework describes how Early Years practitioners work with children and their families to support their learning and development. The Framework was revised in September 2012 to make it clearer, with more focus on children's learning and with greater emphasis on working in partnership with parents to support children's learning at home.
The EYFS explains how and what your child will be learning to give them a firm foundation for a successful start at school. Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of Learning and Development.
Of these, children usually develop the 3 Prime Areas first. These are:
        * Communication and Language
        * Physical Development
        * Personal, Social and Emotional Development
As children grow these Prime Areas will help them to develop skills in the 4 Specific Areas:
        * Literacy
        * Mathematics
        * Understanding the world
        * Expressive arts and design
These 7 areas are used to plan your child's learning and development. Our professional staff will teach and support your child and make sure the activities are suited to your child's unique needs. Our curriculum is suitable for young children and is designed to be flexible to meet your child's needs and interests.
Staff will support your child's learning and development through effective teaching. Each child has a Learning profile which records your child's progress and development. Children at Pre-School Playhouse learn by playing and exploring, being active and through creative and crucial thinking that takes place both indoors and outdoors.


Top of Page